The Women In Business Radio Show
The Women In Business Radio Show Episodes Podcast
Growing Your Business Through Networking
0:00
-58:24

Growing Your Business Through Networking

Without being a card thruster 🫣
Transcript

No transcript...

What better way to learn about networking than chatting to a network owner!

As an owner of a network and on the cusp of starting her second, Katherine Vass is well-placed to advise on some of the most frequently asked and misunderstood aspects of business networking.

Katherine Vass in the studio

Listen in (you can also follow along with the transcript using the tab at the top) to find the answers to some of those tricky questions such as:


1. How can networking build my business?
2. How do I become a good networker?
3. Why is Women's networking important?
4. How do I understand the value of networking beyond referrals?

We also tackle some do's and don’t’s of networking!

This episode was recorded live in our UK Studio and became a podcast for eternity. The transcript is in the tabs if you want to follow along or get references quickly.

We would love your comments about your experiences or thoughts on the topic of this show. Also, if you have ideas about other subjects you would like us to cover, please use the comments to share.

Host Sian Murphy and Katherine Vass in the studio

Meet Our Guest

Katherine Vass, owner of Women In Business Network, Maidstone and East Kent, UK.

About Katherine

I was born in Calgary, Alberta, Canada and lived there until ten years old. My parents were both British and after the death of my grandfather, my mother and siblings returned to the UK and moved to Birchington-on-Sea.

I went on to study Media & Information at Brighton University and then moved to London, working as an assistant photographer. My career then took a turn towards media sales and I have been lucky to work for big brands like Getty Images, ITN Productions working with b2b corporate clients working on a range of video campaigns & content syndication.

Over the years I have spent time living & travelling in Australia, India, Edinburgh, Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Brazil, however the majority of my adult life has been spent in London. I love and adore London, but was ready for a change and my partner and I moved to Kent in summer between covid lockdowns.

My partner and I and our dog live near Faversham and love all that being semi-rural has to offer. I never thought I would be a country girl but life has a funny way of giving you exactly what you are looking for and now I find myself on beautiful country walks and being close to nature!

After spending the last few years working almost exclusively on zoom, I wanted to connect with other aspirational women, I was looking around for ways to connect with local women in business in Kent to find community, inspiration and friendship and this lead me to become a franchisee of WIBN in Kent!

Key Areas of Expertise

Media, content creation, video production, Sales, Branding, thought leadership and of course, networking!

Katherine’s Book Recommendations are:

  • Why We Eat (too much) By Andrew Jenkinson

  • Creativity Inc - Ed Catmull

  • Small Giants - Bo Burlingham

  • Plus the child in me loves all books by Philip Pullman

How Does She Regain Focus and Clarity and Stay Calm?

I go for a walk. get up, go out with the dog, get some fresh air, and be in nature, this is an instant refresh & reset for me! (no matter the weather)!

What’s the business tip or advice you followed that turned out to be rubbish?

“Sometimes people say, 'you have to work smart, not hard.' This can be quite a frustrating thing to a small business owner - what does that actually mean? Demystifying these sorts of savings is really important, I think they can make people like they are missing out on some secret power and that is disempowering.

The reality is, as a small business you do have to work hard, often you are wearing multiple hats and some tasks aren't your forte. This is true as a new business, where you are building a client base, credibility and cash-flow.

Working smart, for me, is about proper planning, I think this is about assessing your tasks and skills and planning ahead to be successful, and when the cash flow is available to invest in the support you need in the areas that you aren't strong in!

This will free up time, for you to excel at the purpose of the business, not the running of it”.

How can you contact Katherine?

Katherine.vass@wibn.co.uk

Visit her website https://wibn.co.uk/page/Katherine_Vass

Thank you for reading The Women In Business Radio Show. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

We hope you enjoy listening to the show and want to connect further!

Why not join as a member for £6.95 a month and join the monthly online brainstorming (2nd Wednesday of each month at 6 pm UK time).

We have a fresh topic each month and of course, there’s also the chance to meet and network with women in business across the globe.

As a free subscriber, it’s a great way to stay connected because the shows are posted to your email, and you can join the chat.

Meet our Hosts

Sian Murphy is the founder and host of the Women In Business Radio Show. Sian is also the creator of the in-person Women In Business Big Show. She is a writer and coaches businesswomen on how to do their own thing through their business. She works with clients, helping them to build confidence, find their path and understand the best tools for the job. To work with Sian or talk about being on the show, please book a 15-minute slot using her scheduler through this Schedule link

https://show-event-introduction.zohobookings.eu/

Her website is https://sianmurphy.com/

0 Comments
The Women In Business Radio Show
The Women In Business Radio Show Episodes Podcast
This is where you can listen to the shows recorded in our UK Studio and uploaded here, advert free, for subscribers.